Article 5 – Kristen Simmons

Article 5, by Kristen Simmons

Article 5, by Kristen Simmons

Rating: 7/10

Basic SummaryArticle 5, by Kristen Simmons, is set in the not-so-distant future of America, after war has lead to a government overhaul, and the installation of ridiculously harsh moral statutes and rules. There is a national religion, a strict definition of family, and even stiffer penalties for breaking these molds. The story follows 17-year-old Ember Miller as her efforts to keep her head down and her mother in compliance with the new laws and articles quickly fails. (Amazon listing for a bigger summary here.)

My Thoughts: I will admit, as much as I enjoyed the sample and was dying to read more, the romance factor caused me physical pain. PHYSICAL PAIN. You know how some YA&teen books/movies/music just makes you want to throw up or injure yourself from how overly dramatic and sappy sticky lovey it is? Some of that happens. “The boy I loved…” My heart shriveled a little bit each time I read a line like that. The good news is that, as the book goes on and boys begin to appear, it gets much better! So. Much. Better. Maybe it’s because I don’t have patience for extra girly drama that this bothered me so much. But if it bothers you too, just know that it gets better, and it gets better fast!

I don’t want to spoil too much for you, so prepare yourself for: misogyny, “rehabilitation”, guns, a few teenage hormones, trust issues, calculating leaders (good and bad), and no tolerance. This future America is well thought out when described (granted, I haven’t been looking to poke any holes in this dystopia); it’s specific when it counts, and vague enough when it doesn’t. No one likes it when they feel like they’re reading a history book. When it comes to show-don’t-tell, Simmons shows as much as she can and then tells just a little for back story.

Bonus Section: The author has a background in social work and is a mental health advocate. I bring this up, because I really think it helps her bring grit and accuracy to the story. These characters are not living easy lives with Starbucks. Even electricity is rationed. As the story moves along, you feel the pain and confusion, you experience the changes happening in the characters’ minds. Ember Miller is not a whiny heroine that turns so many people off to main female characters. But she also isn’t made of steel. Her attempts at surviving, and the back-and-forth progress as she wraps her mind around survival, are well handled. That’s what makes you invested in the book, and in the characters. You never know who to trust or how to feel about someone, and it’s from plenty of information and character development, not from a lack of. Simmons lets you love and hate her characters, all at the same time.

The Wrap-Up: If you are still unconvinced, or wary of this female narrator, note the “BF Recommends” tag. This book was recommended to me by my boyfriend, so although he hasn’t read it (those will get a different stamp), he wouldn’t have looked at it long enough to even recommend it if the plot seemed horribly whiny. Final evidence? It has a sequel. Breaking Point. I read it the next day. (Review to follow.)

Got questions? Did you read it? Are you gonna read it? Leave a comment to back me up, or save others from my lies. (Then click “follow” at the bottom of the site, because it will help me get books from more well-known authors in the future)

Leave a comment